Some shouting.

#shoutingback, if you will.

Okay. I’ve been trying to update this blog for over a week. I meant for this post to be about women’s bodies, and they way the Media and the Patriarchy and society reacts to our bodies and what we do with them. I’ve been stuggling with this post, because I can’t seem to make it dynamic. I will write about this issue another day. Today has wrought some serious shit that needs to be addressed.

I deleted my Facebook account this morning. Facebook has long been pissing me off due to their treatment of nursing mothers and the gay community. Today, some group pages on Facebook were brought to my attention via EverydaySexism on Twitter (if you don’t follow her- do). These pages glorify rape culture, child abuse, and domestic violence. Facebook seems to think that as long as someone says “Oh, it’s just SATIRE. Ha-ha. Surprise sex you didn’t know you wanted! Get it?” that this is A-OK.

I will share these with you now. HUGE TRIGGER WARNING, FOLKS: Rape. Abused children. Battered women. All glorified.

This is why Indian Girls Get Raped. UPDATE: As of when I woke up this morning (10 April 2013) this page has been removed. It’s been re-posted before, so we’ll see.

Battered women.

More rape.

And yet more rape, with a dash of blunt force trauma.

Battered child.

This isn’t all of them.

So, let’s recap: according to Facebook, what I’ve just shown you is perfectly fine and nothing to bat an eye at… but women nursing their children and two dudes kissing are clearly a gross violation of the ToS. How do you feel about that?

Leave a comment